AB5 SIGNED BY THE GOVERNOR, CODIFYING THE ABC TEST, AND PROVIDING FOR CERTAIN EXEMPTIONS
Today, September 18, 2019, AB5 was signed into CA law by the Governor. AB5 embraces and codifies the so called “ABC Test” from the
New Employment Laws Sept. 2018
The following are summaries of new employment laws passed by the California legislature, and signed by the Governor, at the end of September, 2018.
CA Employers Prohibited From Cooperating Voluntarily With Federal Immigration Authorities
Earlier this week, Governor Brown signed the Immigrant Worker Protection Act into law. Under the law, an employer may not provide federal immigration enforcement
Court Finds Food Delivery Service Driver An Independent Contractor Not An Employee
On February 8, 2018, the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California held, in the case of Lawson v. Grubhub, Inc., that
Anti-Sexual Harassment Supervisor Training Must Now Include Training On Prevention Of Harassment Based On Gender Identity, Gender Expression And Sexual Orientation
On October 15, 2017, Governor Brown signed SB 396. The California Fair Employment and Housing Act already requires employers with 50 or more employees
Ban-The-Box And Other Restrictions On CA Employers Using Criminal History Of Job Applicants
On October 14, 2017, Governor Brown signed AB 1008 into law, requiring most employers with 5 or more employees, before denying an applicant a
Employers Prohibited From Seeking Or Using Salary History In Hiring
On October 12, 2017, Governor Brown signed AB 168, prohibiting employers from relying on the salary history information of an applicant for employment as
Mandatory Parental Leave Extended To Employers Of 20-49 Employees
On October 12, 2017, Governor Brown signed SB-63, which forces employers to grant to employees with more than 12 months of service with the
New Amendment To Private School Teacher Exemption Law
I have previously blogged about the California Private School Teachers Exemption, which exempts certain private school teachers from overtime, from keeping track of their
Minimum Wage Increase In Los Angeles
L.A. City and County minimum wage goes up on July 1, 2017 to $10.50/hr. for employers with 25 or fewer employees, and to $12.00/hr.
Day Of Rest Statutes Clarified
In the recent California Supreme Court case of Mendoza v. Nordstrom, Inc., the court was asked by the 9th Circuit to clarify the meaning
Vaquero V. Stoneledge Furniture (2-28-17)
CA Court of Appeal held that paying a non-exempt commissioned employee a draw against future commissions may deprive such workers of their paid rest
Lynn V. Tatitlek Support (2-22-17)
The Court held that an employer is not liable for injuries caused by an employee’s auto accident on a commute under the going and
Healthy Workplaces/Healthy Families Act of 2014 – California’s New Mandatory Paid Sick Leave Law (Effective Date: July 1, 2015)
APRIL 23, 2015 • Employers of any size must provide paid sick leave to all employees who work in California for 30 or more
Minimum Wage in California Rises Today
Today, July 1, 2014, is the day that the minimum wage goes up in California from $8 per hour to $9 per hour.
New Limitation On Use Of Criminal Record Discovered In Background Check Of Employee
On January 1, 2014, California Labor Code section 432.7 was amended to make it illegal to ask about or use information regarding an employee’s or potential employee’s former criminal convictions when those convictions have been judicially dismissed or ordered sealed pursuant to law.
How Can Private Schools Deal With Negative Blogs
The “blogosphere” has further complicated the lives of school administrators.
Private Schools And Volunteers
Private schools utilize volunteers in a number of roles from classroom assistants to driving groups of students to extracurricular activities.